Log in
Free: The Observer Mobile App - Exclusive Content and Services

Pool season climaxes with grand finale at Lugogo

Amos Ndyagumanawe

The top 128 pool players gather this weekend at Lugogo arena to determine the best of 2016.

National champion Amos Ndyagumanawe faces the ultimate test in his defence of the Nile Special Pool Open, popularly known as the grand finale. Ndyagumanawe will face 2009 champion Fred Namanya in the most- anticipated opening fixture.

2012 champion Alfred Gumikiriza, who lost to Ndyagumanawe in last year’s final, will be opening his pursuit against Julius Lukayi, a former Lumas pool club player.

Seed eight Joseph Kasozi will face Jinja starlet Cyrus Mawejje in another fixture that will be closely followed. Mawejje’s potting power has drawn similarities with some of the game’s legends.

Meanwhile, 2013 winner Fahad Ssewankambo has a relatively easy opening game against Patrick Sekirime.

However, that could be the easiest it gets for him having been drawn in the same quarter with renowned players such as Wasswa Kayiya, Patrick Mujuzi, Solongo Bukenya, Ibrahim Sentamu and the national captain Oscar Ocakacon.

On the other hand, seed two Sula Matovu starts his search for a maiden title against Sejjusa Savimbi.

The eventual winner will get a new car, Shs 2m and a pool table while the runner-up will take home Shs 1.5m and a pool table. The third and fourth will get Shs 1m and Shs 750,000 respectively.

A. Ndyagumanawe v F. Namanya J.

Kasozi v C. Mawejje
H. Nsubuga v P. Ainamasiko
A. Gumikiriza v J. Lukayi
F. Ssewankambo v P. Sekirime

O. Ocakacon v M. Mawejje
S. Lubuulwa v J. Nabasa
S. Matovu v S. Savimbi

Comments are now closed for this entry