Kioga MP injured in age limit fracas

MP Anthony Okello at parliament earlier

Kioga country member of parliament, Anthony Okello alias Tango is nursing facial injuries he sustained during a fracas that ensued at the consultation meeting on the presidential age limit.

The NRM legislator, on Saturday afternoon organised a consultative meeting with residents of Muntu at Muntu sub-county headquarters.

Tango arrived at the venue of the meeting at about 1:00pm under heavy police protection when he met a group of already charged residents, many of whom were wearing red ribbons, a symbol of resistance to the age limit amendment.

The charged residents demanded for the whereabouts of Doreen Amule, their Woman MP whom they accused of betraying their trust by supporting a move by the ruling NRM party to remove the presidential age limits from the constitution.

They claimed Okello had been traversing the district together with Amule to bribe locals to support the move. Armed with stones and sticks, the angry residents told Okello they wanted to show Amule that they aren't happy with her move to support the amendment. 

They barred Okello from addressing them without Amule before ordering him to immediately leave the venue. The police whisked Okello into the sub-county offices as officers tried to cool down the charged residents.

However, the angry residents followed the MP and started throwing stones at the offices smashing the window glasses in the process. 

Police intervened and fired several bullets in the air to scare the residents in vain. As the police tried to rush the MP into his car, he was hit on the face with a brick.

He sustained injuries on the nose, mouth and forehead. However, police managed to speed off with him to Amolatar health center IV where he received treatment. He later wrote to police to register a criminal case against the perpetrators.

In his statement recorded at Amolatar central police station under SD reference 23/04/21/17, Okello pointed out five people he accused of masterminding the attack on him.

They include a Lira based advocate, Moses Okot B' tek Junior, Amolatar district vice chairman, Geoffrey Ocen, Sam Onyanga, Muntu sub-county councillor, Tonny Otanga, former LC 3 chairman of Agikdak sub county and Solomon Odongo.

© 2016 Observer Media Ltd