Log in
Free: The Observer Mobile App - Exclusive Content and Services

Makerere graduates 67 PhDs

Last week, Makerere University graduated 67 PhDs, the highest ever by the over 90-year old institution at its 65th graduation ceremony.

Of these 67 per cent are male and 33 per cent female. Most PhDs are in the sciences. Also at this graduation, the university also honoured Ruth Morris Keesling, a gorilla enthusiast with an honorary doctorate of science. Keesling had dedicated her life to research and wildlife conservation, in a bid to revive the once-threatened Mountain Gorilla population.

The ceremony, presided over by the chancellor, Prof Mondo Kagonyera, also saw 13,776 graduands receiving their degrees and diplomas. Of these 49.5 per cent were female and 50.5 per cent male. Rodney Adriko was celebrated as the best student in the sciences, after attaining a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 4.88, to make a first class honours degree in Information Technology.

In the humanities, Luke Sewante attained a CGPA of 4.81 to obtain a first class honours degree in Leadership and Governance from the Makerere University Business School.

In his remarks the vice chancellor, Prof John Ddumba-Ssentamu, congratulated Dr Charles Wana Etyem on his reappointment as chairperson of the University Council.

“We look forward to your strategic leadership in guiding this institution to greater heights. I also take this opportunity to congratulate Mr Bruce Balaba Kabaasa, for his appointment as Chairperson of Makerere University Appointments Board and also wish him a successful term in office,” Prof Ddumba-Ssentamu said.

Pointedly, the vice chancellor added,” we also hope for a positive and significant change in the activities of the Appointments Board.”

In his remarks, the chancellor congratulated the graduands and urged them to remain honest and focused in their future endeavours. Prof Kagonyera was pleased that several university staff had risen to the challenge to go and serve at other institutions. These include Prof Eli Katunguka Rwakishaya, recently appointed deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic Affairs) at Kyambogo University and now serving as acting Vice Chancellor.

Others are Prof John Robert Ikoja Odongo officially inaugurated as chairperson of the taskforce and vice chancellor of Soroti University of Science and Technology; Prof Eriabu Lugujjo appointed Vice Chan­cellor, Ndejje University; Prof Christine Dranzoa, founding Vice Chancellor of Muni Uni­versity;
Assoc Prof Maud Kamatenesi-Mugisha, appointed Vice Chancellor of Bishop Stuart University; Prof Celestino Obua, appointed Vice Chancellor of Mbarara University of Science and Technology; Prof Hannington Sengendo appointed Vice Chancellor of Nkumba University and Dr George Openjuru appointed Deputy Vice Chancellor in charge of Academic Affairs, Gulu University.

Comments are now closed for this entry