Log in
Updated today

Anglican church elects new bishops

The Church of Uganda (COU) has elected two new bishops for Luweero and Sebei dioceses.

Rev Canon Eridard Kironde Nsubuga and Rev Paul Kiptoo Masaba will be consecrated and enthroned as bishops on May 17 at St Mark’s cathedral, Luweero, and April 12 at St Peter’s cathedral, Kapchorwa respectively. The house of bishops sitting at Lweza training and conference centre on January 15 made the election.

Rev Nsubuga, who has been elected as third bishop of Luweero diocese, has been serving as archdeacon of Ndejje since 2013. Prior to that, he served as provost and vicar of St Mark’s cathedral, parish priest and diocesan secretary. He received a bachelor’s degree in Applied Theology from the University of Gloucestershire, and Redcliffe College in UK in 2003.

He was also awarded an advanced diploma in Christian Education from the University of Birmingham (West Hill College UK) in 1996 and a provincial certificate in theology from Bishop Tucker Theological College, Mukono in 1985. He will succeed the Rt Rev Evans Mukasa Kisekka who has served as the second diocesan bishop since 1996.

On the other hand, Rev Masaba was elected the second bishop of Sebei diocese. He has been serving as archdeacon and vicar of St Peter’s cathedral since 2011. Prior to that, he served as diocesan youth and children’s worker for Sebei diocese and was a primary teacher at Kapchorwa primary school, Chema primary school and Kapchorwa demonstration school.

Rev Masaba will succeed the Rt Rev Augustine Salimo who has served as the diocesan bishop since 1999.


Comments are now closed for this entry