Log in
Updated few hours ago

PAM awards never short on surprises

The ninth annual Pearl of Africa Music (PAM) awards ended last Saturday with Iryn Namubiru walking away with the top accolade at Lugogo UMA showgrounds for the gala.

We are used to the awards dishing up controversy each time they are held and this year was no different. What, with the awards committee insisting year after year that Eagles Production is a band, or that Jackie Chandiru’s Agassi video was better than Ps Wilson Bugembe’s Lengera Embaata.

Or Aloysius Matovu Joy pocketing the life achievement award. What for? Theatre maybe, but these are music awards, no?

Away from the momentary bitching above, it was good to see that singer Mathias Walukagga made up with petroleum jelly businessman, Salongo ‘Samona’ Kasawuli – the man who had him thrown behind bars last year for defamation in the song Katuleppuke.

At Lugogo, the two seemed to have put their differences behind them – the differences apparently had everything to do with a woman – so much so that Walukagga even dedicated his award for best kadongokamu artiste to Kasawuli. Then there was Spear Group of companies’ boss Gordon Wavamunno, who in 2009 dragged the PAM awards to court and cost them their sponsorship with Uganda Breweries.

Whispers in the Lugogo corridors on Saturday had it that Wavah and the embattled awards had kissed and made up, and he will rejoin them next year. Patrons seemed shocked when Wavamunno made an appearance at Lugogo. Time will tell if he is indeed getting back on board.

Meanwhile, despite Bobi Wine having three nominations, this is the second year in a row that he walked away empty-handed. Perhaps he foresaw this and didn’t turn up. As for Dr Hilderman, it was his first time to win at the PAM awards. After being nominated for the past four years and winning nothing, his Abitta Ebikutte finally struck gold in the best gospel single category.

Makes one wonder what the secret is for other artistes such as Bebe Cool and Namubiru, who for two years in a row have won male artiste and female artiste of the year respectively.

List of winners

  • Artiste of the year - Iryn Namubiru
  • Album of the year - Birowoozo (Iryn)
  • Song of the year - Katikitiki (Angela Kalule)
  • Male artiste of the year - Bebe Cool
  • Female artiste of the year - Iryn Namubiru
  • Best new artiste - Chris Evans
  • Audio producer of the year- Paddy Man
  • Songwriter of the year - Nince Henry
  • Video of the year - Agassi (Jackie Chandiru)
  • Best live band single - Katikitiki
  • Best live band - Eagles Production
  • Best RnB ariste - Aziz Azion
  • Best RnB single - Birowoozo
  • Best reggae artiste - Bebe Cool
  • Best ragga artiste - Coco Finger
  • Best kadongokamu artiste - Mathias Walukagga
  • Best kadongokamu single - Tomala Gasoma (Walukagga)
  • Best folk pop artiste - Maurice Kirya
  • Best cultural group - Kika Troupe
  • Best gospel artiste - Pr Wilson Bugembe
  • Best gospel single - Abitta Ebikutte (Dr Hilderman)
  • Best afrobeat artiste - Dr Chameleone
  • Best afrobeat single - Talk n talk (Mowzey &Weasel)
  • Best hip hop artiste - Navio
  • Best hip hop single - This is how we do it (Keko)
  • West Nile artiste of the year - GM Kennedy
  • Eastern artiste of the year - No Creature
  • Western artiste of the year - Queen Marion
  • Northern artiste of the year - Lumix
  • Lifetime achievement award - Aloysius Matovu Joy


Comments are now closed for this entry